Translation of the “Kirby: Planet Robobot Original Soundtrack” card with comments from the game’s staff

Similar to the translation of the Kirby Wii Music Selection card I posted some months ago, this is a translation of the card from the Kirby: Planet Robobot Original Soundtrack (specifically the Japanese physical release of it). It’s overall short and simple, so here it goes:


Greetings

Popstar, the peaceful star full of green meadows, faces its biggest crisis yet!

The entirety of Kirby’s adventure as he stands up to save his world from mechanization is brought to you in this big 2-disc volume with all 97 songs!


General Director Shinya Kumazaki

Even if you listen to the sound source during development all day long, supervise it repeatedly, and polish it over and over, game music will never reach perfection. It only shows its true value when it is synchronized with the action, scene development, sound effects, and text. And as a finishing touch for this work, each song has been given a name. Incidentally, some voices are also included in this CD. Susie is Ms. Ohmoto. Haltmann is Mr. Mugihito. Clone Dedede’s scream is me. Star Dream’s strange cry is the voice of my 16 year old female cat. …I was surprised that that cry made into a CD♪


Lead Sound Hirokazu Ando

I originally made  “VS. Star Dream” based on information such as “the last boss this time will have the Halberd”, and although it’s a big song, I was able to finish it well…

However, right after I completed it, I felt that I had heard something like this song somewhere before, and when I went to investigate, I realized that the beginning of this song was similar to the song “Spinning Jungle” from the previous game (Kirby: Triple Deluxe).

Well, there is no problem since that song is also mine, but if anyone is reading too much into it, the answer is “it’s just a coincidence that they are similar”. (laughs)


Sound Jun Ishikawa

When I was working on “Studying the Power Plant”, I decided to use an electric guitar to make the “gyan” sound, because a power plant has electricity and electric guitars use electricity. But I couldn’t get the “gyan” sound, so I started inserting various unusual objects in between the strings, and finally I got the sound I wanted when I inserted my reading glasses in between them. However, the reading glasses broke during the recording. Thus, I learned the truth that cheap reading glasses will break when you put them between the strings of an electric guitar.

(Like these translations? Consider supporting me on Ko-fi!)

Leave a comment