Shinya Kumazaki’s bio from Nintendo Online Magazine’s November 2008 interview about Kirby Super Star Ultra

In November 2008, the Japanese “Nintendo Online Magazine” published an interview about Kirby Super Star Ultra. Said interview featured Shinya Kumazaki.

I’m not here to post the interview itself (well, not yet…), rather I want to just post a translation of Kumazaki’s short bio of said interview, since it has a couple of interesting things. It is the only source of details of his first works with Kirby as far as I know.


HAL Laboratory – Mr. Shinya Kumazaki – Director

Kirby Career

In “Kirby Air Ride” (GCN) he participated as a designer, working on course design etc.

In “Kirby: Canvas Curse” (DS) he was in charge of the planning of the story and final boss.

Kirby Memories

That day when I got all fired up to beat Kirby’s Dream Land’s Extra Mode with the 1 Life setting. However, the actual most memorable one of all was when I was debugging 4 player communication in “Nightmare in Dream Land”, and we had to clear the whole game over and over. My top 3 favorite Kirby songs are “VS. Marx”, “Studying the Factory”, and “Coo’s Theme”.


That really is all for this post. I just wanted to share this to anyone that may be interested.

(Like these translations? Consider supporting me on Ko-fi!)

Leave a comment